Idea’s and Concepts

The first piece of public art I found is designed by a man called Stephan Siebers, I don’t know the location of the sculpture. The structure/sculpture works with the laws of gravity. The structure creates games of balance between volume and weight that surprise and question the viewer’s expectations. The cubes seem to fall and, nevertheless, stand solidly on each other. The structure is fixed by the defiant indestructibility of the steel. The second piece of public art has been created by Isamu Noguchi its called “Red Cube” and is located in downtown Manhattan. The Red Cube stands out in strong contrast to the blacks, browns, and whites of the buildings and sidewalks around the sculpture. It is constructed out of red painted steel. It is surrounded on three sides by skyscrapers, the height of which draw a viewer’s eye upwards. The sculpture itself adds to this upward pull, as it balances on one corner, the opposite corner reaching towards the sky. The third piece of fine art I found is called ‘Cloud Gate’, It was designed by British artist Anish Kapoor. It is 110 ton, 66 feet long and 33 feet high. The elliptical sculpture is made out of highly polished stainless steel. It reflects the Chicago skyline with its liquid mercury surface. Visitors can walk underneath the Cloud Gate, which is surprisingly concave. Kids especially enjoy the fun house mirror effect that this creates. People can walk through the 3.7 meter high central arch, where they can look up to the large dent and see numerous distorted reflections of themselves.

Screen Shot 2014-09-15 at 15.37.23                  Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 09.20.05                Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 10.20.30

http://www.siebers-skulpturen.de/

http://nyclovesnyc.blogspot.co.uk/2008/10/red-cube-by-isamu-noguchi.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cloud_Gate


135     IMG_3785

Idea 1 – I came up with at least 5 ideas. One of my first recommendations was to create a structure in the form of a little girl wearing a gas mask, the girl was going to represent the people that died in the blitz war. I think this would of been a good idea, but personally I don’t think it would’ve of answered the brief in making a structure.

Idea 2 – I started thinking of a concept that can be easily looked at as a ‘structure’ I came up with the idea of building a  shape out of empty walkers crisp packets, If I’d have gone ahead with this idea, I would of placed the structure in Leicester because that’s where walkers crisps are made and originated from. However I think this idea would of been hard to construct and make in to a professionally presented structure.

Idea 3 – I came up with this idea when I read that sheffield is the greenest city in Europe, I came up with the idea of having recycled cans formed in to a structure. The cans will be stacked in cube shapes, each cube of cans will be placed on top of each other. The cubes will look unstable, this will show that the sculpture has structure. This is my strongest Idea because I think it explores the visual meaning of the word ‘structure’.

Idea 4 – This idea came across when I found out Liquorice is originated from Sheffield, I was thinking about building a large structual statue out of liquorice to commemorate this. The liquorice pieces will be stacked up to build a tail thin structure. The structure will be very stable, it will be stuck together with a glue gun, to build up the liquorice. I personally think this will look good as a structure. However this idea is not the one I want to pursue with because, I don’t think this idea will become the strongest outcome.

Idea 5 – My fifth and final idea is to build a structure remembering Don Valley stadium in Sheffield. My main plan is to having someone throwing a javelin, the purpose of this is because Don Valley is the home of athletics in Sheffield, hence the javelin thrower. This will be placed out side the stadium. I will use layers of paper to make the structure, I will draw out the javelin thrower, and use a kraft knife to cut through all the pieces of paper. It will look 3D once I have finish cutting the structure out. Overall I think this is not my strongest idea, hence why I not going to choose to create this idea, the process of cutting the layers of paper will be very time consuming, and could easily go wrong.

My Final Idea – The best idea in my opinion, is idea 3, recycled cans structure. I’ve chosen to create this one because it is the strongest, the one with the best purpose, and I think the one that will create a sound basis for the structure design. Here are some examples below of what my final structure might look like.

Screen Shot 2014-09-15 at 13.35.25  Screen Shot 2014-09-15 at 13.10.03  Screen Shot 2014-09-15 at 13.17.25  eea60d521c4ff34d2f07b370e0485337


Leave a Reply

